New Students

Enrollment Dates and Times
Age Requirements
The requirement for a child's first enrollment in a Kansas school is governed by the state law and the school district cannot exercise any deviations from the law.
• A child must be 5 years of age on or before August 31 of the current year to enter kindergarten.
• A child must be 6 years of age on or before August 31 of the current year to enter the first grade.

Entrance Requirements
The following items are required to enroll a student into the Derby School District
1. A certified copy of the birth certificate for each child enrolling.
2. Kansas Certificate of Immunization.
3. A health assessment (physical) for each child starting school in Kansas if he/she is under 9 years old.
3. Proof of residence in the Derby school district.

If you would like to know which school your child will attend, you may use our Address Locator Tool.  

New Student Enrollment Dates/Times:
If you are new to Derby Public Schools, please visit your attendance center during your scheduled enrollment times below. If you are applying for free or reduced lunches, applications will be available mid to late July. 

All Elementary Schools:
- Monday, July 24 (8:00AM-3:00PM) 
- Tuesday, July 25 (12:00PM-7:00PM) 

Derby Middle School and Derby North Middle School:  
- Tuesday, July 25 (7:30AM-4:30PM) 
- Wednesday, July 26 (10:00AM-7:00PM) 

Derby High School: 
- Tuesday, August 1 (10:00AM-6:30PM) 
- Wednesday, August 2 (9:00AM-4:00PM) 

Quick Links

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2019 West Corporation. All rights reserved.